علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Edward Witten

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

26 Aug 1951

Baltimore, Maryland, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

ادوارد مدينة ويتين ودرس في جامعة براندايس وحصل على درجة البكالوريوس فى عام 1971. هناك من ذهب الى برينستون حصوله على درجة الماجستير فى عام 1974 ودكتوراه في بلدة فى عام 1976.

وبعد اكمال الدكتوراه ، ذهب الى مدينة ويتين هارفارد حيث كان زميل بعد الدكتوراه خلال الدورة 1976-77 ثم مبتدئ زميل من عام 1977 الى عام 1980. مدينة ويتين في ايلول / سبتمبر 1980 تم تعيين استاذ الفيزياء في برينستون. وقال انه حصل على زماله ماك آرثر في عام 1982 وبقي استاذ الفيزياء في برينستون حتى عام 1987 عندما عين استاذا في كلية العلوم الطبيعيه في معهد الدراسات المتقدمه.

مدينة ويتين اساسا هو رياضي وفيزيائي وقال انه لديه ثروه من المنشورات الهامة التي هي في الفيزياء. ولكن ، وكما يكتب في atiyah :

على الرغم من أنه من المؤكد فيزيائي (له قائمة المنشورات يبين بوضوح) قيادته للرياضيات هو تضاهي قلة من الرياضيين ، وقدرته على تفسير الافكار الماديه في شكل رياضي جدا فريدة من نوعها. مرارا وتكرارا انه فاجأ رياضية المجتمع تقريره الرائع عن طريق تطبيق الماديه مما يؤدي الى بصيره جديدة وعميقة النظريات الرياضية.

تحدث في المجتمع الاميركي الرياضية في عام 1988 بالذكرى المءويه للندوة ، مدينة ويتين واوضح العلاقة بين الهندسه والفيزياء النظريه :

كان عليه ان يكون واحدا عندما فكر في الهندسه والفيزياء ، واحدة رئيسية من الفكر الكلاسيكي الفيزياء -- وعلى وجه الخصوص النسبيه العامة -- بدلا من فيزياء الكم. ... وبطبيعة الحال ، قد فيزياء الكم من بداية تأثير ملحوظ في العديد من مجالات الرياضيات -- التحليل الوظيفي والتمثيل من الناحية النظريه ، ان اذكر اثنين فقط. ... تأثيرات هامة عديدة ادت الى حدوث تغيير في هذا الوضع. ومن اهم المؤثرات هي الاعتراف -- بوضوح بحلول منتصف 1970 ق -- من الدور المركزى للقياس nonabelian من الناحية النظريه في فيزياء الجسيمات الاولية. الرئيسية الأخرى جاءت من التأثير الناشئ من دراسة نظرية الخيط وتناظر فائق.

في دراسته لهذه المناطق للفيزياء النظريه ، مدينة ويتين قد حققت مستوى من الرياضيات التي ادت اليه ان يحصل على أعلى تكريم رياضيات يمكن ان تحصل ، وهي وسام الميادين. حصل على وسام فى المؤتمر الدولى لعلماء الرياضيات الذي عقد في كيوتو ، اليابان فى عام 1990. وقائع المؤتمر يتضمن مادتين وصف للمدينة ويتين الرياضية العمل مما ادى الى الجاءزه. اشادة الرئيسي هو المادة atiyah من قبل ، ولكن لا يمكن ان atiyah في كيوتو لايصال معالجة ذلك العنوان في المؤتمر والقى faddeev من يقتبس من atiyah بحرية.

أول مساهمه رئيسية في مدينة ويتين مما ادى الى مجالات وكانت الميداليه له أبسط دليل على التخمين الجماعية الايجابية التي أدت الى مجالات وسام لyau فى عام 1982. Gawedzki وsoulé وصف هذا العمل من قبل مدينة ويتين ، والذى بدأ فى عام 1981 ، في :

والدليل... المستخدمة في طريقة خفية فكرة تناظر فائق. واصبح هذا محور العديد من الاعمال في وقت لاحق مدينة ويتين...

واحدة من مدينة ويتين كان يعمل في وقت لاحق ورقة atiyah التي تفرد للفي اشارة خاصة ، وهي تناظر فائق ومورس من الناحية النظريه التي ظهرت في مجلة فرق الهندسه فى عام 1984. Atiyah ان يكتب لهذه الورقه هو :

... الزاميه القراءة للفهم علماء الهندسه المهتمه في مجال نظرية الكم الحديثة. ويتضمن التقرير ايضا راءعه دليل على عدم المساواة مورس الكلاسيكي ، الى النقاط الحساسة المتعلقة التماثل. ... مدينة ويتين ويوضح ان "supersymmetric ميكانيكا الكم" ليست سوى هودج -- rham نظرية دي. والهدف الحقيقي من هذه الورقه ولكن لتمهيد الطريق لsupersymmetric مجال نظرية الكم وكما هودج -- دي rham نظرية الانابيب المتفرعه من لانهائي الأبعاد. يعد مقياسا للمدينة ويتين التمكن من الميدان انه تمكن من جعل الذكيه والماهره استخدام هذه الظروف الصعبة وجهة نظر في الكثير من الاعمال اللاحقه.

وبما ان هذه ورقة بالغة التأثير ، فإن الافكار في أنها أصبحت ذات أهمية اساسية في دراسة الهندسه التفاضليه. مزيد من الافكار الجديدة ذات اهمية اساسية وعرض والوارد وصفه في مدينة ويتين :

مدينة ويتين في وقت لاحق ألقى سلسلة تفسير للجنس الاهليلجيه والحجج المقدمة لجمود... آخر قطعة من جديد ، ينطلق من مدينة ويتين الرياضيات اوراق الجاذبية العالمية على الحالات الشاذة. ... في السنوات الأخيرة ، مدينة ويتين ركز اهتمامه على طوبولوجي الميدان نظريات الكم. تقابل هذه lagrangians... رسميا اعطاء المثبتات متعددة. مدينة ويتين من حيث وصفت هذه من الثوابت وfloer من دونالدسون (توسيع نطاق الافكار في وقت سابق من atiyah) وعمم جونز العقده متعدد الحدود...

واضعي وخلاصة القول ان مدينة ويتين مساهمات الرياضيات :

ورغم ان معظمهم لا في شكل استكمال الادله ومدينة ويتين افكار الرئيسية التي أدت التطورات الرياضية من قبل قوة من رؤيتهم وضوح المفاهيم ، صاحب اهم الاكتشافات النظريات تصبح في وقت قريب. وسام له في الميادين الدولية لعام 1990 اقر الكونغرس من الرياضيين تزايد اثر عمله على الرياضيات المعاصرة.

Atiyah ، ويعبر عن نفسه في الأفكار على النحو التالي :

... التي قام بها من اثر عميق على الرياضيات المعاصرة. في الفيزياء يديه مرة اخرى وتوفير مصدر ثري للالهام وبصيره في الرياضيات. وبطبيعة الحال الماديه البصيره لا يؤدي دائما الى براهين رياضية صارمه على الفور ولكنه يؤدي في كثير من الأحيان واحدة في الاتجاه الصحيح ، والبراهين صحيح تقنيا ويمكن بعد ذلك نأمل ان تكون وجدت. وهذا هو الحال مع مدينة ويتين عمل. البصيره حتى الان لم تسمح له صارمه لأسفل والبراهين ، من مستوى الرياضيين ونحن نتوقع وبحق ، كانت دائما المقبلة.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Edward Witten

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

26 Aug 1951

Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
Edward Witten studied at Brandeis University and received his B.A. in 1971. From there he went to Princeton receiving his M.A. in 1974 and his Ph.D. in 1976.

After completing his doctorate, Witten went to Harvard where he was postdoctoral fellow during session 1976-77 and then a Junior Fellow from 1977 to 1980. In September 1980 Witten was appointed professor of Physics at Princeton. He was awarded a MacArthur Fellowship in 1982 and remained as professor of Physics at Princeton until 1987 when he was appointed as a Professor in the School of Natural Sciences at the Institute for Advanced Study.

Basically Witten is a mathematical physicist and he has a wealth of important publications which are properly in physics. However, as Atiyah writes in :

Although he is definitely a physicist (as his list of publications clearly shows) his command of mathematics is rivalled by few mathematicians, and his ability to interpret physical ideas in mathematical form is quite unique. Time and again he has surprised the mathematical community by his brilliant application of physical insight leading to new and deep mathematical theorems.

Speaking at the American Mathematical Society Centennial Symposium in 1988, Witten explained the relation between geometry and theoretical physics:

It used to be that when one thought of geometry in physics, one thought chiefly of classical physics - and in particular general relativity - rather than quantum physics . ... Of course, quantum physics had from the beginning a marked influence in many areas of mathematics - functional analysis and representation theory , to mention just two. ... Several important influences have brought about a change in this situation. One of the principal influences was the recognition - clearly established by the middle 1970s - of the central role of nonabelian gauge theory in elementary particle physics. The other main influence came from the emerging study of supersymmetry and string theory.

In his study of these areas of theoretical physics, Witten has achieved a level of mathematics which has led him to be awarded the highest honour that a mathematician can receive, namely a Fields Medal . He received the medal at the International Congress of Mathematicians which was held in Kyoto, Japan in 1990. The Proceedings of the Congress contains two articles describing Witten's mathematical work which led to the award. The main tribute is the article by Atiyah , but Atiyah could not be in Kyoto to deliver the address so the address at the Congress was delivered by Faddeev who quotes freely from Atiyah .

The first major contribution which led to Witten's Fields Medal was his simpler proof of the positive mass conjecture which had led to a Fields Medal for Yau in 1982. Gawedzki and Soulé describe this work by Witten, which appeared in 1981, in :

The proof ... employed in a subtle way the idea of supersymmetry. This became the centrepiece of many of Witten's subsequent works...

One of Witten's subsequent works was a paper which Atiyah singles out for special mention in , namely Supersymmetry and Morse theory which appeared in the Journal of differential geometry in 1984. Atiyah writes that this paper is:

... obligatory reading for geometers interested in understanding modern quantum field theory. It also contains a brilliant proof of the classic Morse inequalities, relating critical points to homology . ... Witten explains that "supersymmetric quantum mechanics" is just Hodge - de Rham theory. The real aim of the paper is however to prepare the ground for supersymmetric quantum field theory as the Hodge - de Rham theory of infinite dimensional manifolds . It is a measure of Witten's mastery of the field that he has been able to make intelligent and skilful use of this difficult point of view in much of his subsequent work.

Since this highly influential paper, the ideas in it have become of central importance in the study of differential geometry. Further new ideas of fundamental importance were introduced by Witten and described in :

Witten subsequently gave a string interpretation of the elliptic genus and provided arguments for its rigidity ... Another piece of new mathematics stemmed from Witten's papers on global gravitational anomalies. ... In recent years, Witten focused his attention on topological quantum field theories. These correspond to Lagrangians ... formally giving manifold invariants. Witten described these in terms of the invariants of Donaldson and Floer (extending the earlier ideas of Atiyah ) and generalised the Jones knot polynomial ...

The authors of sum up Witten's contributions to mathematics:

Although mostly not in the form of completed proofs, Witten's ideas have triggered major mathematical developments by the force of their vision and their conceptual clarity, his main discoveries soon becoming theorems. His Fields Medal at the 1990 International Congress of Mathematicians acknowledged the growing impact of his work on contemporary mathematics.

Atiyah, in , expresses the same ideas in the following way:

... he has made a profound impact on contemporary mathematics. In his hands physics is once again providing a rich source of inspiration and insight in mathematics. Of course physical insight does not always lead to immediately rigorous mathematical proofs but it frequently leads one in the right direction, and technically correct proofs can then hopefully be found. This is the case with Witten's work. So far the insight has never let him down and rigorous proofs, of the standard we mathematicians rightly expect, have always been forthcoming.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland