علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Jacob Amsler

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

16 Nov 1823

Stalden bei Brugg, Switzerland

3 Jan 1912

Schaffhausen, Switzerland

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

جاكوب amsler بالمجلس ، وكان والد احد المزارعين. وقال انه نشأ في stalden ، وهي مدينة تقع في وادي vispa ستة كيلومترات الى الجنوب من وادي الرون الرئيسية. مدرسته وكان التعليم في المدارس المحلية التي تخرج مع النية لدراسة اللاهوت.

Amsler اول درس اللاهوت في جامعة جينا وثم في جامعة königsberg. وكان في königsberg ان amsler تغير بطبيعة الحال من بلدة الى اللاهوت والرياضيات والفيزياء. والسبب ، كما هو في كثير من الاحيان في مثل هذه الحالات ، كان ملهما التدريس. المعلم amsler من تغيير في المستقبل وكان فرانز نيومان الذي الدورات والمحاضرات والمختبرات وقال انه حضر في جامعة königsberg. في عام 1848 حصل على جائزة amsler على الدكتوراه من جامعة königsberg وثم عاد الى سويسرا لمواصلة تعليمه.

العودة في سويسرا ، amsler عملت لمدة عام في المرصد في جنيف. اتم دراسته في زيوريخ حيث كان له منح التأهيل ، ومن ثم الحصول على الحق للتدريس في الجامعات. في 1850-51 عمل استاذا في جامعة زيوريخ ، بتدريس مادة الرياضيات والفيزياء الرياضية على المواضيع. في عام 1851 ، التي ترغب في الحصول على مزيد من الوقت لتكريسه لبحثه ، amsler اتخذ موقفا في صالة رياضية في تشافهوسان ، وهي مدينة تقع في شمال سويسرا وتقع على مصرف لنهر الراين. والواقع ان المدرسة لم تسمح له لايجاد مزيد من الوقت لاجراء البحوث ونتيجة لنشر عدد من مادة الفيزياء الرياضية على مدى السنوات القليلة المقبلة ، ولا سيما في كتابه ورقات عن المغناطيسيه ، التوصيل والحراره على اجتذاب مجسمات القطع الناقص.

ومما هو جدير بالذكر الماضي نتيجة لهذا بمزيد من التفصيل لأنه يعمل على المشكلة التي كانت مشهورة جدا التاريخ. وهذا هو مشكلة اجتذاب الاهليلجي ، التي كانت أول دراسة معمقه من جانب العاج وكان الحل الذي عمم في وقت لاحق من قبل بويسون. Amsler مدد نظريات كل من العاج وبويسون حول هذا الموضوع. وكانت بداية واعدة لبحثه الوظيفي في الفيزياء الرياضية.

في عام 1854 متزوج amsler ولعل هذا الامر كان بمثابة نقطة تحول في حياته المهنيه. زوجته ، السي laffon ، هي ابنة معروف الباحث السويسري. Amsler يبدو انه كان من دواعي سرور ان لهم علاقة لهذه الاسرة واشار الى انه يود ان يعرف amsler - laffon من هذا الوقت. السي amsler ويعقوب - laffon اطفال ، ولكن دائما معروف باسم amsler بدلا من amsler - laffon. وهذا يوحي بأن amsler كان يحاول الحصول على بعض المزايا من الصلات التي حصل عليها الزواج.

بعد فترة وجيزة من زواجه amsler بحثه تغير المصالح وحياته المهنيه. وبدا لدراسة بناء الدقه والادوات الرياضية سريعا وقال انه فكرة لتصميم نوع جديد من planimeter. وقال انه اخترع planimeter القطبيه ، وجهاز لقياس المجالات المغلقه من قبل طائرة المنحنيات. وهي تقوم على الأحداثيات القطبيه في حين ان الصكوك في وقت سابق على اساس احداثيات ديكارتي. في عام 1856 نشرت ورقة amsler über داس planimeter الذي قدم تفاصيل فكرته. كما يكتب في ماهوني ، amsler 'splanimeter :

... تكييفها بسهولة لتحديد ساكنة وبالقصور الذاتي لحظات والمعاملات من سلسلة فوريير : ثبت انه من المفيد ولا سيما السفن والسكك الحديديه والمهندسين.

من أجل الحصول على المال من اختراعه ، amsler اقامة ورشة عمل في 1854 في تشافهوسان المصممه خصيصا لانتاج بلدة planimeter القطبيه. وبعد ثلاث سنوات كان قد تخلى Al له مصالح أخرى الى التركيز بشكل كامل على انتاج الادوات في ورشة العمل. متجره 50 000 انتجت هذه الصكوك خلال حياته.

Amsler لا بقية له شهرة عالمية واحدة على هذه الفكره ولكنها لا تزال مصدر الهام لابتكار ادوات جديدة الدقه. لا شيء من الاختراعات الاخرى اقتربت من القطبيه planimeter في الاهميه ، ولكنها كانت من نوعية كافية للفوز له جوائز في العالم معرض في فيينا في عام 1873 ، في باريس في 1881 ، ومرة اخرى في باريس في عام 1889. صاحب الذكاء تم الاعتراف مع انتخاب لعضوية اكاديميه العلوم في باريس في 1892.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Jacob Amsler

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

16 Nov 1823

Stalden bei Brugg, Switzerland

3 Jan 1912

Schaffhausen, Switzerland

Presentation Wikipedia
Jacob Amsler's father was a farmer. He grew up in Stalden, a town in the Vispa valley six kilometres south of the main Rhône valley. His school education was in the local schools from which he graduated with the intention of studying theology.

Amsler studied theology first at the University of Jena and then at the University of Königsberg. It was at Königsberg that Amsler changed his course from theology to mathematics and physics. The reason, as is so often in such cases, was inspiring teaching. The teacher who changed Amsler's future was Franz Neumann whose lectures and laboratory sessions he attended at the University of Königsberg. In 1848 Amsler was awarded his doctorate from the University of Königsberg and he then returned to Switzerland to continue his education.

Back in Switzerland, Amsler worked for a year at the observatory in Geneva. He completed his studies at Zurich where he was awarded his habilitation , thus gaining the right to teach in universities. In 1850-51 he taught at the university in Zurich, teaching courses on mathematics and on mathematical physics topics. In 1851, wishing to have more time to devote to his research, Amsler took a position at the Gymnasium in Schaffhausen, a town in northern Switzerland situated on the bank of the Rhine. Indeed the Gymnasium did allow him to find more time to undertake research and as a consequence he published a number of article on mathematical physics over the next few years, in particular writing papers on magnetism, heat conduction and on the attraction of ellipsoids.

It is worth mentioning this last result in more detail for he worked on a problem which had quite a famous history. That was the problem of the attraction of an ellipsoid, which was first studied in depth by Ivory whose solution was later generalised by Poisson . Amsler extended the theorems of both Ivory and Poisson on this topic. It was a promising start to his research career in mathematical physics.

In 1854 Amsler married and this may have been the turning point in his career. His wife, Elsie Laffon, was the daughter of a well known Swiss scientist. Amsler seems to have been pleased to be connected with this family for he indicated that he wished to be known as Amsler-Laffon from this time on. Elsie and Jacob Amsler-Laffon's children were, however, always known by the name Amsler rather than Amsler-Laffon. This suggests that Amsler was trying to gain some advantage from the connections acquired by marriage.

Shortly after his marriage Amsler changed his research interests and his career. He began to study the construction of precision mathematical instruments and quite quickly he had an idea for the design of a new type of planimeter. He invented the polar planimeter, a device for measuring areas enclosed by plane curves. It was based on polar coordinates whereas earlier instruments were based on cartesian coordinates. In 1856 Amsler published a paper Über das Planimeter in which he gave details of his idea. As Mahoney writes in , Amsler's planimeter:

... adapted easily to the determination of static and inertial moments and to the coefficients of Fourier series : it proved especially useful to shipbuilders and railway engineers.

In order to make money from his invention, Amsler set up a workshop in Schaffhausen in 1854 specially designed to produce his polar planimeter. Three years later he had given up al his other interests to concentrate fully on producing instruments in the workshop. His shop produced 50 000 such instruments during his lifetime.

Amsler did not rest his fame on this single inspired idea but continued to invent new precision instruments. None of his other inventions came close to the polar planimeter in importance, but they were of sufficient quality to win him prizes at the world exhibition at Vienna in 1873, at Paris in 1881, and again in Paris in 1889. His brilliance was recognised with election to the Paris Académie des Sciences in 1892.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland